Multitudes of Smoke

The thoughtful ramblings of a space goat and his alts.

Top of Mind

Posted by Smokimus on March 9, 2010

I listen to several (too many) WoW podcasts and recently there has been a lot of QQ from some quarters about the catering to the casual. It is becoming tiresome. The “I’ve been playing for 5 years and I can ‘t believe how easy they are making this game” crowd needs to wake up and realize that their pixelated avatar won’t be a special snowflake in of itself.  The unique aspect of anyone’s character is going to be the person playing it behind the keyboard.

I’ve only been playing for a year and a half, I will never be a ‘leet player.  I try to play as well as I can, but I’m not (don’t want too) going to raid 5 days a week for 4 hours a night and beat my head against bleeding edge content.  I can’t imagine something more boring. However, I can run dungeons and raids and I can at times be a better player than most (= >50%).  I don’t feel like I’m being handed the shiny bling.  I’m earning it.

For the vast majority of players, end game raiding isn’t “easy”.  Getting gear via running heroics and badge farming does nothing but get the typical player the opportunity to begin seeing end game content.  A less experienced player is still going to stand in the goo, get hit by the flame walls, not move to get the needed burr/de-buff regardless of gear level.  Everyone has to learn these skills and the only way for them to learn them is to practice.

I think Blizz understood that running Black Temple, Molten Core, Sunwell (or any of the end game raids of the era) week after week after week waiting for that one piece of gear to drop that would allow the player to move to the next piece of content was not attractive to most of the playing community.  Therefore, most (90+%) never saw endgame content. That content took a lot of development time to make.  They implemented this current system to change that stat and I think that is a great thing.  Could it improve? Absolutely.  Is it better than it was? Absolutely.

4 Responses to “Top of Mind”

  1. Matrik said

    I couldn’t agree more, Smoki! Like you, I’ll never be ‘leet (nor do I want to). The end game is pretty damn hard for people like us, but it’s a lot of fun. Does it take us over a month to down Saurfang or Festergut? Sure. But when we do it and move further, it’s a rush. That’s what Blizz is going for, I think…and you hit the nail on the head with this post. Good one!

  2. Secretworld said

    Love it and so true. Too bad most “leet” players will never see it. And some leet players are such asses I imagine they would even fail to see your point and would disagree completely.

  3. Brad said

    Agreed, most of these people QQ’ing about easy content are people rolling through 10 mans in 25 man and herioc 25 man gear. In that case of course it will be easy you overgearing the instance. Luckily we found a good group of people willing to take this for what it is and thats a game to have fun and accomplish a goal no matter how hard/easy it is to others.

  4. Errodien said

    Love this post! I agree with you 100%

Leave a Reply

 
