Multitudes of Smoke

The thoughtful ramblings of a space goat and his alts.

Welcome Back

Posted by Smokimus on October 19, 2010

It’s been awhile. Hope all of you are doing well and have enjoyed your break from the game (if you took one). I know many of you are back. Dalaran is back to being officially the most lagtastic place in the World of Warcraft. We missed you and are glad that you have decided to join us again.

How has the pre-Cataclysm patch treated you and your class?

Do you feel like you are having to re-learn your class?

I haven’t written in sometime as I’ve been busy in RL. It happens as real life does.

I didn’t take a break from the game, just from writing about it.

I accomplished many of the in-game goals that I set out earlier in the year, as the pre-expansion blues descended upon the community.

  • Smoke completed “What a Long Strange Trip” and thanks to the patch all of my flying mounts are 310% speed. Woot.
  • Both Horde DKs are at 80.
  • Most of the professions I wanted to level to max have been. I haven’t leveled alchemy and jewelcrafting to max yet, as I have a baby mage and baby shaman that I’m doing these on as they level. (In hopes of keeping the gold cost down)
  • I haven’t yet finished leveling the Hunter. This has moved down my priority list as I’m enjoying leveling the mage and shaman more than the hunter. This may change when these characters get to Outland or Northrend, but for now, I’m enjoying them more than the hunter.

    Quick Thoughts

  • I really enjoy using the Dungeon Finder for the holiday bosses. I don’t care that it isn’t as immersive an experience as pulling together a group and flying off to the site of these encounters. It is fast and fun. These bosses are meant to be loot piñatas and that is what they are.
  • The new talent trees are fine by me. I like the fact that if you pay attention to what each talent says and you know what role you want to play, you don’t need to go to a website to tell you the “best” talents to take. Before the patch, I was tanking (say what?) in some regular Northrend dungeons and was with a 70 something DK that had his talent points spread equally in all 3 trees. I didn’t want to embarrass him, so I didn’t say anything. Stuff was dying and it didn’t make that much of a difference to me. Thankfully this can’t happen anymore and that is a good thing. I just hope he doesn’t pick the “Blood” tree and try to dps in it.
  • There must have been a ton of QQ on the Blizz forums after the patch. Melee dps was way down immediately after the patch and they seemed to hot fix this in a hurry. After some gem replacement and a little more comfort with the dps rotation, I was in about the same place I was on the damage meters in ICC before the patch.
  • The baby mage and baby shaman aren’t having any of the mana issues after the patch that they were having before the patch. They just don’t go OOM anymore.

What say you?

 

Leave a Reply

 
