Multitudes of Smoke

The thoughtful ramblings of a space goat and his alts.

Back Again

Posted by Smokimus on September 23, 2011

Welcome back

Rift was your ticket out

Welcome back

To the WoW that you laughed about

Some of the names have changed since you hung around,
But those dreams have remained and they’re turned around.

Who’d have thought they’d lead ya (Who’d have thought they’d lead ya)
Here where we need ya (Here where we need ya)

Yeah we will tease you a lot cause we’ve got you on the spot,

Welcome back,
Welcome back, Welcome back, Welcome back.

 

It has been a few months since I’ve posted, but I have not gone away.  I’ve just been working and playing when I’ve had the chance.  There has been a tremendous amount that has been happening in game since I last posted.

  • Patch 4.1 – The Zul’Roics as I’ve heard them referred to and the Call to Arms (rewards for underrepresented roles in LFD).  There wasn’t much for me in this patch as I’ve pretty much held to my “no pugging” policy.  I will do heroics with guild groups, but pugging in the current environment isn’t fun.  When this patch came out, my guild was down to very few active players.  I made one attempt at a Zul’Roic with a couple of guildies and that was enough to convince me that I wasn’t going back until a full guild group was possible.  I did do the lead in quests and those were painless with a nice pet at the end of them.  A little discussed feature of this patch was the return of portals to Stormwind and Orgrimmar from the main cities of the previous expansions.  This was a very nice quality of life adjustment for alts running through BC and Wrath content.
  • Children’s Week and Midsummer Fire Festival  – New pets for CW and a re-tuned boss for MFF.  Nothing to see hear…Move along.
  • Patch 4.2 – Rage of the Firelands – New daily quest hub and raid.  I’ve enjoyed the daily quests and the ability to get upgraded gear.  Yes, this is a new grind, but what else are you going to do with your time if you don’t raid.  I’ve completed the area on 3 toons (Smokimus, Macination, Mcfromage) and will work on the others as time permits.
  • Two New 85s – Mcfromage (Mage) and Mctotemus (Shaman) that makes 6 85s on my main server.
  • Back to Heroics – With a stable of 85s that need gear, I was back to heroics.  Mostly with guild groups as some of the players who took a break have started coming back.  I have pugged some heroics as the need for gear upgrades has made the acquisition of chaos orbs important again.  I’ve been willing to sacrifice some enjoyment for the sake of getting my alts up to speed with crafted epics.

 

What have you been up to?

Leave a Reply

 
